As this 2023 comes to a close, the Spartan team had the chance to come together and celebrate another terrific year at Spartan’s National Sales Meeting. Two highly eventful days were jam packed with events challenging the team to think bigger on the themes below:

  • EDUCATION: Informative breakouts lead by our knowledgeable peers ๐Ÿง ๐Ÿ‘Š
  • SERVICE: CEO of CB Flooring & former Chair of Starnet, Chuck Bode, dropped knowledge on how to out service contractors in a riveting Fire Side Chat ๐Ÿ”ฅ๐Ÿ’ก
  • FUTURE: Reflecting on where we’ve been and where we are, Kevin Jablon shed light on the future of the business ๐Ÿ”ฎ๐Ÿ‘€
  • PERSPECTIVE:ย  Lance Bachman presented a Keynote focusing on the importance of perspective โšก๏ธโ˜๏ธ

The sales meetings festivities concluded with a very happy hour filled with joy and laughter from people excited to see each other in person, our annual awards dinner, and even a comedy show that did not disappoint!

One of the highlights of the evening came from our special guest speaker Viktoriia Tsymbal who gave a powerful testimonial on the current crisis in Ukraine. In a truly heartfelt moment, she shared how the war has directly impacted her and her family. Her story of being separated from her family, fleeing to Poland, and finding her way here to the US as she awaits word on when she can go home was incredible to hear.

This year’s awards dinner continues the Spartan tradition of shouting out those who consistently floor the rest of us with their talent, knowledge, and care. Please take a moment to congratulate this year’s well-deserved winners and nominees.

Spartan Jacket Ceremony ๐Ÿงฅ๐ŸŸฉ

Forget Wall Street suits, the real power players wear green! The first annual Jacket Ceremony recognizes Spartans who’ve proven their drive with off the chart results. Many meeting and exceeding goals year over year, these are the minds that keep Spartan soaring.

Winners: Kelli Mildren, Shawn Campbell, Collin Keating, Joe Blodgett, Tim Dormer, Jake Clary, Keith Knecht, Chuck Schillaci, Danny Delozier, Colin O’Donnell, Mike Blasek, Ray Szech, Doug Fulmer, Danny Boyle, Kevin Dunn

Green Jacket Ceremony
Green Jacket Ceremony
We Over Me ๐Ÿคœ๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿค›

The We Over Me Award is one of the most important of the night!ย  It’s given to one of our coworkers who always puts others over themselves.

Nominees: Ben Garback, Rick Rollins, Lexi Wright, Vaughn Lewis

Winner: Ben Garback

Innovator of the Year ๐Ÿ’ก๐Ÿง 

Without new and fresh ideas, a company gets stale, a process gets tired, or a once-promising system gets replaced. The Innovator Award goes to someone who brought the house down with a new perspective on how to get it done.

Nominees: Jake Verger, Chris Judd, Collin Keating

Winner: Chris Judd

Actor of the Year ๐Ÿ‘จโ€๐Ÿซ๐Ÿ“น๐ŸŽฌ

In 4 years, we’ve created a crazy amount of content, giving the world an inside look into what Spartan Surfaces is about. Tonight’s award goes to the actors and creators who made those videos special.

Nominees: Brandon Lyons, Katie Nuce, Chuck Schillaci

Winner: Chuck Schillaci

Chuck Schillaci giving a speech while accepting his award.
Chuck Schillaci giving a speech while accepting his award.
Rookie of the Year โšพ๏ธ๐Ÿ…

There are a rare few that come in guns blazing. They thrive in the insanity, and their immediate success shows. Tonight’s award is for those who have exceeded expectations right out of the gate and are crushing it on every level.

Nominees: Raymont Johnson, Katie Nuce, Kayla Grim

Winner: Katie Nuce

Rocky Balboa Award ๐Ÿ”„๐Ÿ”โœ…

The Rocky Balboa Award recognizes our character and strength in this organization. When nothing goes your way, your drive and motivation pull you through.

Nominees: Hanna Verschoore, Keith Lacognata, Elizabeth Stanley

Winner: Keith Lacognata

Grit & Grind Award ๐Ÿ’ช๐Ÿ‘Š

The Grit and Grind award goes to the person who never stopped pushing and made it all happen! It’s their Grit to believe in themselves and their passion to persevere and overcome the difficulties that get in their way.

Nominees: Michael Seman, Ish Calzada, Danny Delozier, Collin Keating, Connor LaPlante, Karen Ches

Winner: Connor LaPlante

Connor LaPlante Coming Up To Receive His Award
Connor LaPlante Coming Up To Receive His Award
The Double D Award ๐ŸŽฏ๐Ÿ’ฏ๐ŸŽฏ

The Double D award stands for dedication and dependability. These two character traits can be found in spades by both of our winners. Spartan only hits our goals because we have people behind the scenes who do whatever it takes to ensure things are running smoothly.

Nominees: Tanee Gray, Karen Ches, Michelle Schmand, Elizabeth Stanley, Cole Bedsaul

Winners: Tanee Gray, Elizabeth Stanley

Mentor Award ๐Ÿค ๐Ÿ‘จโ€๐Ÿซ

Most successful people in life can look back at that one individual along the way that helped them get things going. That person they could confide in, bounce ideas off of, or help them up when times got tough. The Mentor Award goes to a mentor who stepped up and assisted their peers in helping them achieve their goals.

Nominees: Christopher Capobianco, Christian Honig, Abigail Brobst, Keith Lacognata

Winner: Christian Honig

Rising Star โœจ๐ŸŒŸ๐Ÿ’ซ

To be the best, you have to beat the best. To get that shot, you have to rise through the ranks. Set goals for yourself, reach for greatness and go for it all. The Rising Star Award goes out to the person who set their goal to be #1 and will do whatever it takes to get there.

Nominees: Stephen Stauch, Brandon Lyons, Mike Wilson, Chelsea Puetz

Winner: Brandon Lyons

Customer Service Person of the Year ๐Ÿ“ž๐Ÿ’ป ๐Ÿ“ง

We all know this group doesn’t get enough credit. They come in every day to help the sales team achieve their goals. They help us fight through our issues, process every order, and tirelessly put out each fire as it comes. This award is to celebrate and say thank you.

Nominees: Hope McGreevy, Cooper Andrus, David Kirbach, Kayla Grim

Winner: Hope McGreevy

Region of the Year ๐ŸŒŽ๐ŸŽฏ

The Region of The Year award goes to the region that has shown considerable dedication and results throughout the year. This award is a testament to the region that has shown incredible team effort and is a shining example for others.

Nominees: Southeast, Midwest

Winner: Midwest

Midwest Region Accepting Their Award.
Midwest Region Accepting Their Award.
MVP Top Salesperson of the Year ๐Ÿฅ‡๐Ÿ‘

Spartan was founded by and for salespeople. To get to the top of the mountain and get a shot at this award, you must have discipline, dedication, and natural talent. Congrats to all the nominees, but there can only be one!

Nominees: Danny Delozier, Ray Szech, Collin Keating, Kevin Dunn, Doug Fulmer

Winner: Danny Delozier

Danny Delozier Giving a Heartfelt Speech
Danny Delozier Giving a Heartfelt Speech
Ring of Honor ๐Ÿ˜‡โญ๐Ÿ†

The Ring of Honor award goes to that one special person who has contributed a significant amount of time, effort, passion, and ability toward the betterment of Spartan. This individual has gone above and beyond time and time again, and to congratulate them for their achievements, we’ve presented them with this award.

Winner: Meredith Nicholson

About Spartan

Spartan Surfaces, a subsidiary of Floor & Decor, is a specialty flooring supplierย headquartered in Bel Air, MD. Employing over 150 team members, Spartan holds warehousing and offices in Maryland and Minnesota with showrooms inย D.C. andย Chicago. ย Its geography encompasses eighty-five percent of the United States, with continued expansion on the horizon. Using a human-centered approach, Spartan prides itself on great people dedicated to great products, families, friendships, and happiness. Whatever you’re working on, we’ve got you covered!